Lab coat.

ah. is halloween the spookiest?   man may never know.

Today Gabe is wearing a teal jacket, a blue sweatshirt, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Well, let’s see. I have spent the last six days in my bed, alternately working and watching episode after episode of Grey’s Anatomy, in a haze of sickness. At first it was awful, then it was boring, and now it is super super old. I am sick of being sick! (!!!!!!!)

On Tuesday, I actually thought I was fine. As such, I planned a whole downtown day to celebrate being alive: I was going to get a haircut, then have a coffee meeting, then meet a friend for dinner.

At 2 o’clock, as I climbed on the bus, I wondered if I would even make it the whole ride. At 3 o’clock, as I walked up the stairs to my coffee meeting, I started sweating profusely. I never got the haircut.

But today is a new day. Today I am going to do lots of work. I am going to take a walk. I might even get my hair cut.

Of course, that all sounds a lot easier when I’m writing a blog post, fully horizontal, in my piping hot bedroom. Oh yes, the heat has been turned way, way up for days. It would be unlivable for a normal human. But this is my new life, I guess. Welcome to it. It’s sweaty.

I wonder know if I’ll even be able to return to my normal life when I am well again.

Will I be able to leave the house more often than every 72 hours? Will I be able to go outside without wrapping a scarf around my head and face? Will I ever do my job from an upright seated position? Will I remember how to think clearly without my mind going blank every few seconds? Can I make polite conversation without coughing as my new form of punctuation?

These are the big questions. The big questions you wonder when there’s nothing left to wonder about, because you’ve wondered it all already, stuck in isolation, eating Advil and drinking liter after liter of water for six days.

I wonder what will happen next on Grey’s Anatomy. There is only one way to find out.

9 comments

  1. MikeW

    I am sorry for your plight Kate. It is an especially brutal virus / bacteria season. It will pass. Have you seen a doc to make sure you’re not walking around with pneumonia? Might be a good idea if you haven’t already. Great coastal setting for Gabe’s well-attired Khaki Philosopher appearance. Hope you mend quickly, bounce back, and that Gabe stays well too!

  2. Don Royster

    Kate, hope you get well soon. I think watching a medical show could be contagious. All those diseases the hospital can’t cure. In fact, you go to the hospital and you get sick. Anyway get well.

  3. draliman

    Oh no, I hope you feel better really soon :-(
    That reminds me, I got another series of Grey’s Anatomy for my birthday and haven’t watched it yet. However, I have watched the final series of Private Practice which contained the biggest Grey’s Anatomy spoiler EVER in the whole world so I know what’s going to happen. Boo.

Leave a Reply

