Self talk.

   

Today Gabe is wearing a green jacket, a grey sweatshirt, khaki pants, and black shoes.

He’s also obviously in a great mood. What a whimsical stance!

Recently I have been thinking a lot about what I want to do with my life, career-wise, and trying to figure out exactly how I want to spend my time, what my priorities and goals are, and, if I ever figure out those first two, how to put things in motion to achieve those goals.

I spend a lot of time writing for my job now about this very topic, only I’m ghost-writing it for a successful tech executive who’s offering insight and advice to people in my position. Which is kind of a strange thing. I’m basically writing advice to myself.

Most of the things I write these days focus on topics like leadership, networking, goal-setting, and success, and they’re written from the stories and opinions of this person who has built a career on becoming good at them. But then, the posts are actually being *written* by someone who is trying to figure out all those things right now. Which is pretty strange.

In a way, it’s also a valuable education for me. Every time I write a post, I get a chance to hear about success from this person’s perspective and then put it into words. This person whose blog I manage has already dealt with all of the self-doubt and confusion and has already taken action to achieve their goals. I hope that because I am writing advice for people just like me that my writing is more valuable to people like me, since I’m trying to answer the questions that I actually have (rather than already being highly successful and trying to remember what it was like to not know how to network, for example).

Maybe?

Meanwhile Gabe is cooking fried rice and singing along with the radio, so it might be time to leave the computer and pursue the goal of eating lunch.

9 comments

  1. marsha4852

    I almost got a writing job doing something similar. It would have been for a podiatry firm and they had several people blogging about foot problems. The doctors would sent a document to the writer who would then do some research on it and then send it back in as one post.

    I would have had to do ten posts per week. It’s probably a good thing it didn’t work out as I’m strapped for time as it is. It would have been similar to your situation in that I have a lot of problems with my feet and it may have shown me what I could do different to keep them from getting worse.

    Thank you for liking my post.

      • marsha4852

        I didn’t do the job, but considered doing it. A friend told me about it and I think her friend really wanted her to do it not someone else.

        How did you get the job, do you have a degree in writing, or do you belong to one of the many sites that put writer’s and jobs together?

      • Kate Stull

        I actually get most of my jobs through networking; one of my first clients referred a friend to me and it’s grown from there. Lots of people in tech have big ideas but no time to write them down, so it keeps me occupied! 🙂

  2. faceatthewindow

    I too am in a similar position: rethinking my career and trying to figure out my goals (I’m also just feeling lucky to have a job as we appear to be in a massive recession)! If you feel like posting some of that career based advice on here, please do. I’d love to read it. Oh, and what do I do for a living? I’m a careers adviser. Physician heal thyself eh?! Thanks for the like on my post 🙂

    • Kate Stull

      Thanks for the thoughtful comment! Yes, it can certainly be easier to give other people good advice on their careers than figure out what’s best for ourselves. Hopefully we’ll both get there! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Reference check. « kate stull

Leave a Reply

