Reference check.

  

Today Gabe is wearing a green jacket, a grey sweatshirt, a green fleece, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Gabe added a green fleece to his ensemble today because guess what, it is super rainy and cold! It has been pouring down rain since last night, and it shows no signs of stopping.

I actually really like the rain and find it really soothing when I have no particular reason to be outdoors. When we first moved here, I was pretty disappointed to learn that the myth about Seattle being so rainy really wasn’t all that true. Sure, it can be grey and foggy, but so can San Francisco. Most people are pleased to find out that it’s actually sunny here a lot of the time, but I don’t mind when the clouds roll in.

On this particular rainy day, I’m still plowing through on my chapter-a-day mission to complete my technical recruiting book by Thanksgiving. Today I’m just wrapping up a chapter on interview debriefs and reference checking, with just a few more paragraphs to go.

As I mentioned in a previous post, it’s interesting to be writing a guide on how to effectively assess a job candidate and do a reference check when I’ve never actually done it myself. The person I’m working with has done it a million times, so they have great insight and resources for me, but still – it’s a strange feeling.

At my old non-profit job, I did interview a few candidates for jobs in my department, but as a 22-year-old interviewing people who were sometimes 10 or 15 years older than me, it was a strange experience for sure. I remember going into my first one. Without any preparation from my boss and no idea what to do, I sat down at the desk and asked the only question I could think of:  “So…where are you from?”

3 comments

  1. desertrose7

    I just spent about twenty minutes reading through all your blogs. I don’t know why, but I became absolutely fascinated by what Gabe would be wearing next. Gee, he wears that green jacket a lot doesn’t he? I feel like following you just to see what Gabe will be wearing next. I think he should be a bit more daring. Nothing kinky or anything. (I’m a decent person here.) Maybe something outlandish or, brightly coloured. I don’t know why, but it would amuse me to see that.

Leave a Reply

