Splash zone.


Today Gabe is wearing red shorts, a white t-shirt, a blue sweatshirt, white sneakers, and mismatched socks.

This photo was taken down by the beach where Gabe and I were taking a walk earlier. Gabe is originally from the California coast, where he does a fair amount of surfing, so it’s safe to say he misses the ocean A LOT. That’s why, whenever there are waves in the Puget Sound, he likes to get as close to the water as he can (see photo).

The huge tanker boats and tugboats and ferries that cut through the Sound every day churn up the waters enough to create minor waves throughout the day, but on this particular walk the waves were especially good. Lots of splashing.

Now that the holiday is over and I’m back to work, it’s a little weird getting used to not being under the time crunch of my book deadline anymore. There’s still plenty to do, but I feel a bit lost without that sense of urgency and one-mindedness from last week. Although I suppose I should reinstate a sense of urgency since I’ll be flying home at the end of this week. I can’t wait…but there I’ve got blog posts and edits ahead of me before I go.

My home is about as far away from the ocean as you can get, which used to be what I hated about it, but now I really like it.

I met some new friends this weekend, who asked me where I was from. I told them, “Illinois.” Later one of them asked, “So you’re from Chicago, right?” and when I said no, he said, “But I thought you said you were from Illinois.”

Oh, west coasters.

4 comments

  1. jamieaaron03

    yeah don’t ya’ know on this side of the country we all live in big cities? lol I used to live in South Beloit Illinois, ever heard of it? Probably not.

  2. otownmommy

    hi there- thanks for stopping by my post and liking it
    I miss the ocean too 😦 used to live in vancouver for 10 years and miss seeing the large tankers and the barnacles. Yes, even the barnacles. Such a fun idea with these posts! what will Gabe be wearing tomorrow? I can’t wait to see 🙂

  3. ina

    I am also a good midwestern girl (from NE), but now that I’ve lived in California for…oh, I’m not going to say, it’s been too long, it would kill me to be without the ocean air. It’ll happen to you, too (cue ominous music)…

    Anyhow, point being, Gosh he looks HAPPY.

Leave a Reply

