All a-twitter. (#announcement)

gabriel12121   gabriel1212

Today Gabe is wearing a grey sweatshirt, a teal jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

I got caught in the rain today. After spending a grueling three hours writing a project I should have completed weeks ago but which, for whatever reason, seemed impossible whenever I sat down to do it, I finally completed it and did a pretty good job if I do say so myself.

I thought I’d treat myself to a walk and some juice but wouldn’t you know it as soon as I got to the juice place, aka the farthest point away from my house that this walk could have, it started pouring down rain. But you’ll never guess who was willing to hop in the ol’ Volvo and come pick me up – it was Gabe, of course!

As a thank you, I treated him to breakfast where we both got omelets. I ordered an omelet that came with bacon, but asked them to remove it (since I’m a vegetarian and all). Gabe ordered the same omelet and asked that my extra bacon be put in his. They said yes.

And now for a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT.

I met yesterday with one of the people I write with and for, and one of the things she is great at – and is inspiring me to want to be great at – is building her personal brand. As someone who is generally kind of internet-phobic but is coming around to the idea that the internet is where I can create the career I want in marketing/content/strategy, I’m taking some tiny baby steps towards being better at my own personal branding too.

Which includes getting on Twitter. Yes I did it. Do you want to be friends? Say yes: @katestull

hope to tweet very interesting and funny things. Let’s connect, shall we?

Are any of you out there working on your own “brand”? I’m interested to see how other people do it, why, and what kind of results they’ve reaped from excellent work. If you’ve got a story or insight, please share it in the comments! Otherwise, I’ll just be here desperately thinking of insightful and terribly charming things to tweet, I guess forever.

10 comments

  1. ilikemargarine

    I can tell you with great certainty that branding yourself after a butter substitute doesn’t work.

    I think I read somewhere that the kids are all abandoning twitter. As a copy editor myself, I fear the end is near. You should probably pin your hopes on a “What’s Gabe Wearing This Month” calendar.

  2. Jennifer Olivarez

    Hi Kate! I love your blog. Love to see what Gabe’s wearing. You’re onto something there. Very entertaining. I’m also new to branding. In real life I have some experience upholding a company’s brand image, but it’s so different when you’re presenting yourself. It’s a bit intimidating at times, but I have to believe that as long as you are true to yourself, do what you love and trust your gut, it’ll all be okay. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

