Heavy cat.

heavycat1228   sushicat1228

Today Gabe is wearing a teal jacket, grey sweatshirt, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

He is sitting beside me on the couch playing a Japanese video game that appears to be about feeding a cat sushi, and calling out whenever he achieves a level by feeding the cat “enough” sushi to advance. I guess no matter how long you live with someone, you will never completely understand them.

I have been thinking a lot about New Years resolutions recently, and what I want for the next few months and years, both in my personal life and career. One of the big things I’m thinking about doing is joining a co-working space in downtown Seattle where I can work once a week with other freelancers and startup folks.

This is an effort not only to get out of the house a little more often for my own sanity, but also to help work on my anti-social tendencies and improve my networking skills. I think it will be good to get in a routine of seeing other people who are working on exciting projects, and connecting with them around the office and at events in the space.

The longer I work at home, the harder it is for me to walk up and start talking to people I don’t know and feel comfortable in a room of strangers. This is bad! For me, being good at socializing is a skill – not a natural tendency – so it’s one I need to keep practicing in order to remain good at it.

Being someone who engages with other people and asks them questions and learns interesting things from them is something I want for my personal life and my career, so I think my New Years resolution is going to be about coming up with a strategy to help put that into action. I am excited about it – because I see a place I want my career to go and I know that this is part of it. So it’s exciting to put more parts into motion that will help me get where I want to end up. 🙂

Are any of you working on New Years resolutions? If so, I’d love to hear them!

Any suggestions for what Gabe’s New Years resolution should be? More outdoor slippers? Corduroy pants??

8 comments

  1. Author Charmaine Gordon

    Kate, Make up a strategy and focus by doing it every day. One foot in front of the other just like a dance. That’s the way you learn. Don’t be side-tracked by Gabe’s clothes, blogging, and more. You want a career-Go for it. Happy New Year and success ahead.

  2. gary

    Jaunty hat!!!!!! (and shared space is a great idea. collaborative thinking. I always liked the idea of songwriters who had office space with partners, just to establish a structure.) but mostly a jaunty hat.

  3. GetSkinnyWithBeth

    I like your shared work space idea. It’s necessary to get out. I work quite a bit from home, and you can’t meet new people at the kitchen table I’ve found. I try to find a reason each day to take a short trip out. Then I try to chat up at least one person…about anything.

  4. Pingback: Want your big idea to matter? « kate stull
  5. Yvonne

    I worked from home for about 5 years before I retird. I agree with your observation about how it becomes harder to socialize with a roomful of strangers. While I loved the freedom of working from home I do like it set me back both inmy career and social skills. I love the idea of yours about having a place to go once a week.

Leave a Reply

