Taco Tuesday.

IMG_0592   IMG_0593

Today Gabe is wearing blue sunglasses, a maroon sweatshirt, a teal jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Today we are both tired. We stayed up late last night for New Year’s of course, and in spite of being a notorious teetotalling square, I even drank two beers and stayed up until three in the morning hanging out with friends and watching fireworks around the Space Needle from a party in a top-floor Capitol Hill apartment.

When we got up this morning, we went out onto Alki to have some fish tacos and found that the beach was flooded with people. It was sunny, so I guess people wanted to hang out on the sand? Nevermind the fact that it was intensely cold and windy – maybe 40 degrees, tops. I saw so many people jogging along the beach too, and wondered how many of them were jogging for the first time. How many of them had woken up to begin a new regimen of running and eating better, and how many of them I’ll still see out there running in a month.

I am not usually a New Year’s resolution-setter; I prefer to set goals and go after them whenever the need strikes. Like, if I realize I need to lose weight or get my finances in order, I don’t wait for January to do something about it.

But this year, I feel like New Year’s is happening right around the time that I’ve realized I have some new goals I want to set. I want to get better at networking at talking to people. I want to learn more about business. I want to reconnect with my artsy side – going to see art and making it myself too. I feel like I left 2012 with a lot of momentum and I want to keep it up.

I also want to learn how to feel less overwhelmed by twitter. But that one might be impossible.

How did you all spend your last night of 2012? Gabe spent it rocking the same outfit he is wearing today, so no need to worry about his resolutions – this guy already has it all figured out. Maybe we should all resolve to dress and just be more like him?

4 comments

  1. blessedbebeth - Middlescapes.com

    Sounds like you and Gabe had a perfect beginning to the new year. 2012 was a tough, but insight filled year, so for 2013, praying the insights continue at a more gentle rate of return. Here’s to embracing our lives fully with or without resolutions.

  2. otownmommy

    Spent it with my children snuggled in their beds and my Hubs with me on the couch. Snacking on chips, drinking a few beers and laptop on new years eve stream. A kiss at midnight EDT with bubbly and then a skype call to a friend in vancouver till his midnight.

    I think resolutions can be great as long as you don’t give up on them and don’t beat yourself up over them. Doing them when you feel the need to change something in you life is definitely the way to go. Have a happy and productive new year!!

  3. Pingback: Want your big idea to matter? « kate stull

Leave a Reply

