Girl sunday.

Gabe 2 Saturday 112    Gabe Saturday 112

Today Gabe is wearing blue sunglasses, a green fleece, a grey sweatshirt, a teal jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Don’t worry, he hasn’t been wearing exactly the same clothes from a week ago this whole time. In fact, we’ve both been in really unusual outfits this last week – pajamas and sweatsuits –  as the superflu swept through our house and wiped us both out for several days. I foolhardily posted last Sunday that I was feeling much better, but that turned out to be deeply incorrect.

Luckily, now we really are both better! Unfortunately, that means my post on writing will have to come next time, as I’ve had no energy to pull all my thoughts together, and I want it to be really good.

In the meantime, today is the last day of the Elles: Women Artists from the Centre Pompidou exhibit at the Seattle Art Museum and I’m really sad to see this exhibit go! I love seeing so many women artists displayed together. And it’s not at all a here-are-some-female-artists, half-hearted collection; all the work is really strong and the themes about being a woman and being a woman artist are really well-executed. I even discovered a new room in the exhibit today that I’d somehow missed the whole show.

It had a series of photos with text beneath them, but the text (en francais) had been stitched on long pieces of fabric. All of the stories centered around being left by a partner, and each started with how long it had been since the person left (ie. “It’s been 56 days since he left me in a hotel in New Delhi.”)

It’s kind of hard to explain and I can’t find any images online, but as an art major and writer, I’m always a sucker for other lady artists who incorporate text in their work. (Such as Jenny Holzer, who gave a talk at the art museum this week, and who I have admired for such a long time and I can’t believe I got to listen to her live in person). Anyways, the artist who I just discovered today is Sophie Calle and I am kind of obsessed with her now.

This week I also managed to make a teensy bit of progress on my goal of learning to network better. I went to a lecture/discussion on Friday morning, in spite of a pounding head and stuffy nose, and got to be around some really smart, interesting people talking about “the science of happiness”. I didn’t get too nervous or overwhelmed, and overall it was just fine. I’m excited now to get out there and find more opportunities like that one where I can practice.

But for now, I’m mostly just happy to be able to breathe through my nose and not be sick anymore.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Want your big idea to matter? « kate stull

Leave a Reply

