Hang ten.

righteous    brah

Yesterday Gabe was wearing a wetsuit.

Why? Because yesterday Gabe and I were in beautiful La Jolla, California soaking up the sun and catching some waves, trying to forget the cold, cloudy city of Seattle for a little while. Gabe is, in his leisure time, a totally righteous surfer dude, so he of course ran-not-walked to the nearest surf shop by our apartment and hit the waves first thing in the morning on the day he arrived.

We were down in La Jolla for a couple of days visiting family (in addition to surfing), and had an absolutely amazing time. We did a little sightseeing and a lot of hot tubbing and ocean swimming, and played some cards along the way too. But now we’re back in cold, grey Seattle – a little more tan than when we left – and back to life as usual.

One eagle-eyed reader, Ben [of Ben’s Bitter Blog – a bitter-in-a-fun-way read if you feel like clicking over!] noticed it was a little too sunny in the last post to have been taken in Seattle that day, and he was of course correct. 🙂

But now vacation is over and it’s time to get back to work. I’m doing my best to be diligent in my research and writing, though it is admittedly a little hard to focus after taking a couple of days off. I’m excited to be wrapping up a few projects in the next few weeks and getting started on a big new one too.

Hey fellow writers, I’ve got a question for you.

I submitted a pitch for a guest-post (or series of posts) last week to a blog I’ve been following for the past year or so. I know they’ve got a very small staff, but I haven’t heard anything back yet and am wondering the best way to follow up with them if I don’t hear anything by the end of this week. Any advice? Have any of you done guest-posting and have words of wisdom? It’s my first time sending something like that out and I’d be really interested to hear how others have done it successfully.

Your comments and input are always really helpful and I love reading them!

Comments on Gabe’s most recent outfits are of course appreciated too. (And trust me, I tried to get him to surf in his teal jacket and khaki pants. He just wouldn’t do it.)

5 comments

  1. urbanpaleochef

    I’ve never done a guest post (nor hosted one yet), but I see it fairly often. The normal rules of following up should apply here – no more than twice per week. If you haven’t followed up yet this week, now may be a good time to do it.

  2. bensbitterblog

    So my eagle eyes were not decieving me! I hope you had fun in California and it was warm. The only reason I noticed is because I am from here and I know we never get sun in the winter…or spring or fall. Sometimes we get it in August. And by the way, thanks for the mention. Good luck on your guest blog!

  3. Tammy

    I get a lot of inquiries from people wanting to do guest posts and while I’ve only done it once, I’m happy to share some of those letters if you want.

  4. Liz

    I have nothing to say re: Gabe’s outfit (though he looks lovely) ;-), but I do want to thank you for stopping by foodforfun’s (expensive) buttermilk ice cream’s post:-) Always fun to see you.

  5. Ben Tessman (@bentoons)

    You will want to track down any one of the members of this tiny staff and just write them a brief but memorable email saying you love their blog, are a long-time reader, and that you submitted articles last week. Ask them for advice on what the next steps are & who to follow up with. Generally, they are very accommodating & will respond with advice or even check in with the person who handles the inquiries to see if they can get you an answer.

Leave a Reply

