High gear.

214 gabe 1   214 gabe 2

Today Gabe is wearing blue sunglasses, a brown sweatshirt, a green jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Over the last couple of years, I’ve accidentally developed a really fun Valentine’s Day tradition where I do my taxes. Or rather, get my taxes done. It started because one year Gabe was working an evening shift and I was already thinking about my taxes because it was mid-February and then as it turned out that there were lots of available appointments at my tax preparer’s office on February 14th and so I just went in.

And then every year since, I seem to keep doing my taxes on Valentine’s Day.

Taxes are weird as a freelancer, and I would love to do them myself, but since it’s even mildly complicated to do so, I have someone do them for me. It’s always informative, and actually not a terrible way to spend Valentine’s. Productive!

The rest of my day today is all about working on this Very Big Exciting Project I’ve been doing all week. It’s a website, which I did a lot of the content for, and now I’m working on assembling it all into a non-ugly, readable format. It’s hard. I’m a detail person working in a medium I’m not great at (the Internet), so at times it has been incredibly frustrating.

“WHY WON’T THIS JUST LINE UP” has been a common refrain.

But frustration aside, it’s *really* exciting to be working on this project. I can’t wait to see it when it’s all done, and to have played such a big role in it coming together. I worked so hard to write it all and I’m really proud of it all. Yay! Can’t wait to share it here.

(PS to all of you who checked out my piece on The Billfold or who found this blog via The Billfold – thank you! It’s been awesome to hear from you, and I’m happy to report I am working on a new piece for them that will hopefully be up soon.)

Being a writer is not always rewarding, but it really has been recently.

Better than getting your taxes done in advance.

Definitely.

6 comments

    • Kate Stull

      Hopefully it will launch in the next couple of weeks! I’ll be sure to share it here. 🙂 And yes – we haven’t seen this brown sweatshirt in a while. Gabe is going just crazy.

  1. Pingback: Slip away. « kate stull

Leave a Reply

