Performance art.

gabe grey fleece thumbs way up   gabe grey fleece yawning

Today Gabe is wearing a grey fleece, a green jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

In the second picture, doesn’t it look like Gabe is screaming into the wind? Well, he is.

Well, no, he isn’t. He was yawning. But after we had finished with today’s photos, I told him they were really good ones. He leaned in and said to me, “Well Kate, some people just have it.”

He was referring to the fact that yesterday, Gabe was taking a couple pictures of me for an approaching “About” page on a website I worked on (that will be launching very soon!!) and to put it simply, it did not go great.

I squirm in front of the camera. I put my chin down, look off to the side, wiggle my shoulders – anything to keep from looking straight into the camera and appearing human. This usually results – as it did yesterday – in really unflattering, shadowy, just-plain-terrible photos.

It’s a skill I need to improve. I know this.

Anyways, I told Gabe I wasn’t natural in front of the camera. He told me that he is. (And he is, obviously.)

Expanding on his point today, Gabe told me that being good in front of the camera is all about being an expert performer.

“It’s a performance. Give the people what they want! When you’re in front of the camera, it’s not about you. It’s about the performance. Some people have it, and some people don’t. I have it.”

In retaliation, I posted the picture where he’s yawning.

He was joking when he said that, but in a way he wasn’t. I think this blog might have been a terrible idea after all.

I’ve created a monster.

8 comments

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

  2. Pingback: Conga line. | kate stull
  3. Pingback: Conga line. | kate stull

Leave a Reply

