Seal watch.

gabe whats yr point   gabe what up

Today Gabe is wearing a maroon sweatshirt, blue sunglasses, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

You guys, I have really bad posture. It’s something I’ve known for a really long time because I’ve been told to “sit up straight!” since I was old enough for anyone to take notice that that small child over there was hunched up like a…oh I don’t know, something that spends its life with it’s shoulders hunched over. A Frankenstein.

Let’s use a Frankenstein as a placeholder for my current self.

A few days ago, I was sitting at a table at lunch and became super aware of my shoulders curling forward at a horrifying angle, and I decided right then: no more. It’s unattractive, unpowerful (not a word), and also super unattractive.

It’s also the kind of thing that makes people draw bad conclusions about you. Not horrible ones, but like, you don’t notice if someone is sitting with good posture, but you do notice when someone has terrible posture. And you probably judge them. (I do.)

So I’ve been sitting up straight for the last five-or-so days and let me tell you, it is awful.

It’s not comfortable! I’m assuming it will become comfortable as I get used to it (and if you have good posture and know that it never becomes comfortable I DON’T WANT TO KNOW because otherwise I’ll never make it. So keep it to yourself.)

But I know this is a goal I want to achieve and can achieve. I quit biting my fingernails in October, and I know for a fact I’m an excellent quitter. I quit eating meat, I quit drinking booze, I quit eating chocolate. I am a master quitter – so bad posture, you had better look out. You are in my crosshairs.

6 comments

  1. bensbitterblog

    By the way, I caught your tweet above, “Sometimes not having any idea where we’re going works out better than we could possibly have imagined.” and I was totally thinking that yesterday. I had no idea where I was going on my latest post and I just kind of threw it at the wall and for some reason it really resonated with the people that read it. So weird how that happens!

  2. South of the Strait

    I am new to your blog, but I think Gabe needs to switch up the khakis. I know when one looks as fabulous as Gabe does in a nice pair khakis the temptation is to stick with what brought you to the big game, but I think Gabe should branch out a little and maybe try a pair of green corduroy slacks.

Leave a Reply

