Mish mash.

oh shrug   booty booty booty booty

EVERYBODY BRACE YOURSELVES:

Today Gabe is wearing a red jacket, a grey sweatshirt, khaki pants, and brown boots.

Who does this guy think he is? Red jacket? Brown boots? Oh boy.

He does look pretty cute wading into the Puget Sound in his raincoat and boots, though, right? So I guess I’ll allow it. This time. Let’s get back to basics next time though, shall we? I’m really more comfortable with a green jacket and brown shoes.

Today I am tired. I’ve been a troubled sleeper for a few years now. Either I can’t fall asleep, or I wake up too early, or I sleep so much one night that I don’t sleep at all the next.

Sometimes it actually works out – I’m really productive in the morning, and when I wake up at 3am for no discernible reason, it’s often a great opportunity to do a full day’s work before 10am (and have the rest of the day free for fun and lounging).

Other times, it doesn’t work out so well. Today is one of those.

I couldn’t sleep until after 2am last night and woke up before 8. While today could have been a perfect opportunity for a nap (light workload scheduled, plus grey rainy weather), it never came. So instead I just hung out in between alertness and sleep, having just enough sleep to stay awake all day, but not enough to be productive and perky.

My brain feels like mush.

I manage to get through days like this by breaking up my workday into many small, manageable pieces. I don’t have the stamina to work for, say, four hours without stopping, but I know I can do one hour. I can’t write an entire blog post in one sitting, but I can upload the photos and outline a post.

It’s also a fun opportunity to watch old episodes of Law & Order on Netflix in between tasks. The latest season they have online right now is from 1997, and even better than seeing a criminal get caught and brought to justice, is hearing the characters talk about technology like the Internet and cell phones. Because it was 1997.

Anyways, today I heard Assistant District Attorney Jamie Ross say: “Well, if he had access to an online computer…” and anyways it made me feel a lot better.

2 comments

  1. Kate Stull

    Tell me about it! If he’s not careful, Lenny Briscoe’s going to make some snarky remark about him right before they cut to commercial…how embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

