Thunder clap.

to the right   to the left

Today Gabe is wearing blue sunglasses, a black t-shirt, a maroon sweatshirt, green jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

I had a little bit of a wake-up today. For the last little while, I’ve been feeling…preoccupied. By things related to work, like wondering where I stand, what’s going to happen next, if I’m doing well enough – or even well at all. And I’ve felt preoccupied by day-to-day things like what I should be doing, where I might be going, if the way I spent my day was right or wrong.

Alert: this is not helpful thinking.

Or at least, not helpful when it gets in the way of you actually getting anything done the way you want.

But today, I got a good reminder from my personal advisor (who I call Dad) that instead of spinning my wheels in nervous, worrying energy, that I could make myself feel better about all these worries (and improve my odds of not having things to worry about on top of it) if I just applied that energy into productivity. That is, if I turned my worry time into writing time. Or spreadsheet time. Or museum time.

Whatever it is you’re worried that you’re doing too much, or not enough, or not well enough – if you’re sure it’s a problem, then the easiest way to feel better is to get down to fixing it.

If you feel you’re not writing enough, start writing. If you’ve been putting off a project you know is important, do the first step today. Then do step two, and then step three.

Worrying is comforting because it makes you feel busy without you having to do anything at all. But it wastes time and energy and just delays getting the things you want to do – or the things you know you should do – done.

More often then not, we already know the right thing to do. We just have to stop thinking, and do it.

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.”  ― Corrie ten Boom

6 comments

  1. Andrea Genereaux

    It used to infuriate me that my partner never seemed to worry. His philosophy is: “don’t worry about the things you can’t change, and do something about those you can.” I’ve since tried to think in the same way and it’s helped me become a less anxious person–now I’m just angry that he was right all along.. Great post, I hope you feel a bit more settled.

Leave a Reply

