Get smart.

gabe in the shade  made in the shade

Today Gabe is wearing a brown sweatshirt, khaki pants, one brown shoe, and one blue boot.

I am on day one of my juice cleanse and I will just cut to chase: yuck. I feel…cranky. Headache-y. Tired.

I have done short cleanses before and I know feeling kind of tired and out of it, especially at the beginning, is normal. I also know that lots of people fast for days or weeks at a time, and do it quite successfully, or at least, get on with their lives while they’re doing it. But right now — living in it, writing about it — this is the absolute pits.

I first got intrigued by the idea of fasting after listening to one of my very favorite authors, David Rakoff, go through a fast and talk about it on This American Life a few years ago. Here’s the audio. I love this story (though I love basically everything David Rakoff ever did) and I’m listening to it for motivation. And also just to make some minutes pass before I can go to bed.

This morning, before listlessness set in, I went to the doctor for the first time in a while and found out I have a very healthy-sounding heart. For the rest of the day, I’ve been pretending to be productive and trying to accomplish things, slowly. Very slowly.

I don’t seem to be able to do much of anything, really. I went for a walk, I did some work.

I hope things pick up tomorrow.

5 comments

    • Kate Stull

      This juice cleanse is a 3-day one, but people do them anywhere from 1 to 21+ days. The benefits of a short-term cleanse are pretty simple; it can reduce sugar cravings, and just sort of reset your digestive system a bit. I do it mostly as a willpower challenge myself, to get focused about what I’m eating instead of just passively grazing. 🙂

      • Miss Chipie

        My friend does something similar, once or twice a week she eats breakfast and then fasts for the day, eating only a low calorie evening meal twelve hours after her breakfast. It is so easy when you are writing to do as you say, passively graze. Good for you! Hope it gets easier after day one, I bet you feel fab afterwards!

Leave a Reply

