A l’heure.

je travail tres fort   voila un chien!

Today Gabe is wearing a grey sweatshirt, blue jeans, and brown boots.

PAY NO ATTENTION TO THE GAPING HOLE IN GABE’S JEANS. It’s being repaired, or so I’ve been told. Though I’ve been told this for four days and yet the hole remains. Jeans Watch 2013 is on.

Today I am wide awake. I think I’ve finally shaken the jet lag, which is a good thing because I realized my last two posts were about not being able to sleep and I think everyone would have just quit reading if this became my insomnia blog. (Which, as I said before, would be interesting to just about no one.)

But luckily, I am wide awake. And this is how I feel:

twitter @katestull

Okay, my feelings are maybe more complex than that. But I mean, that basically sums me up these days.

So other than generously spreading Nutella on my brioche every morning, I am hard at work most days here in France. I am lucky enough to be able to do my job from anywhere with an Internet connection, and it’s also quite satisfying to get the bulk of my work done before the west coast even wakes up. Oh, how productive I appear to be!

In between working sessions, I wander the grounds and chase the sheep. They don’t want to be found, but I always manage to chase them into a corner and try to take their picture. Today I have a little leftover bread to feed them, which I hope will win me some favor with them. Ideally, they’ll be eating out of my hand by the time I leave, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself.

After work most days, we eat dinner late into the night (well, late for me, who tends to be in bed by 9 at home) and then I might watch a few Giants baseball highlights with Gabe. All in all, not too shabby, no?

Meanwhile, Gabe and his dad are also hard at work during the day, turning a centuries-old stone building (well, part if it anyway) into an art studio. Pretty cool, right? They’re drilling into stone walls and hoisting big beams of oak to build a loft. It’s dusty, manly work, but someone has to do it.

Hence the gaping hole is Gabe’s jeans. Tough work does a number on your once-beautiful clothes. (Note: I don’t think those jeans were ever beautiful.)

When they’re not working, the studio easily turns into the site of many a heated ping pong match.

le ping pong

Yesterday Gabe and I took a walk down the road, where we met some cows and a goat.

les vaches   la chevre

We also had some visitors over the weekend. The neighbors came, and we shared with them some biere rosee aka pink beer, which I did taste and it was gross. But somehow it got finished anyways.

la biere rosee

And finally here’s a look out the window, and a required adorable photo of Gabe getting cozy with a friendly dog who came to visit us today along with some artist friends of Gabe’s parents.

la fenetre       meilleurs amis

I can’t complain, this is pretty great. It makes 5 days of blinding jetlag seem like nothing; I’m wide awake and ready to start exploring. Hello sheep, here I come.

4 comments

  1. draliman

    Sounds like you’re having a great time now that the pesky jet lag is out of the way!
    Good luck with the sheep – they’e camera shy.I tried to take a picture of one in Wales last week and the moment it saw the camera it ran off 😦

  2. Pingback: Plein air. | kate stull
  3. Pingback: Plant sale. | kate stull

Leave a Reply

