Monkey shines.

they're right behind me? oh i'm simply to tired to look.   and the call was coming...from the sunflower patch!!

Today Gabe is wearing a white t-shirt, red shorts, and brown flip flops.

(Sssshh. Lean in, everyone, and imagine the rest of this blog post being delivered to you in a very low whisper. Gabe is verrrrry sleepy today and we can’t disturb him. He is napping. Poor lil guy he’s just plum tuckered!)

You see, he had a very long weekend with all of his friends who came from out of town to see him and go camping. He had like, a six day long birthday party, you guys!

In those six days, Gabe and his band of friends went floating down a river, on two different days, and they went hiking, and they drank beer in the woods, and they ate brunch, and they ate some insane sounding burgers that are, I think, tempura fried or something? They played baseball, and kubb, and a game called Drinkopoly, which is played exactly how it sounds, which is to say it is played like Monopoly only with drinking rules enforced, and it usually ends with a lot of yelling and not-so-subtle trickery.

It sounds like quite a weekend, no?

Naturally, I was working through most of the fun parts. Because as has been established on this blog before, I am “really cool” and “a lot of fun”.

But Gabe had an amazing time, and I had an amazing time for all the parts I was involved with, but most importantly Gabe had a really amazing time. He loves his friends and was so so so happy to see all of them and spend time with them.

Which is one of my favorite things to see. Is a happy Gabe.

But now — oh boy is he sleepy.

Meanwhile, I have been working a lot and yet also somehow seemingly accomplishing nothing. Does that ever happen to you? I have been busy. I have been doing things; I know I have been doing things. And yet I feel like I have nothing to show for it.

One thing I have accomplished recently is watching Blue Jasmine, which was only playing at one tiny independent movie theater in Seattle, but which my friend Brett joined me to see, and oh man did Cate Blanchett do a great job just losing her mind in this movie.  So while I guess watching a terrific movie doesn’t really count as “a task completed” it did take my mind off basically everything in the real world for two hours and that’s not a bad thing.

After the movie, I drank a coffee which turned out to be a bad idea, as when I returned home I tried to relay the plot of Blue Jasmine to a living room full of Gabe’s friends, and lost steam about 15 seconds in.

“Okay, so the movie opens with Cate Blanchett but her name in the movie is Jasmine, and she’s on an airplane and she’s crazy, but she used to be rich, and anyways her husband is Alec Baldwin. What was I saying? I’ll just be in my room.”

So anyways, I’m off coffee again for a little while.

Leave a Reply

