Comedy batch.

a pirate's life for me   i can't wait to meet my parrot!

Today Gabe is wearing a blue t-shirt, khaki pants, and brown flip flops.

Well, you guys, I did it. I went to two networking events in one week, and I even handed out a few business cards. And I maybe made a new business friend or two. Yay!

Now I am looking forward to a very quiet weekend, where I will get so much work done, because somehow this week, it seems like every day I accomplish something, and am ready to move on to the next thing, but in the intervening hours two new things have appeared between me and that next thing on my list. Not this weekend though. This weekend — I am taking care of business.

Last night Gabe went on a sail around the Puget Sound with a friend who rents a sailboat from time to time, and when he came home, he put a bag of party ice in the sink. Then he dumped out the bag and left the ice there, just melting in the sink.

Later, as he filled up a glass of water, he turned to me and said, “The sink is full of party ice! Isn’t that cool?”

“No?” I said.

“Yes,” he said. “It is totally awesome.”

Do you ever have a conversation with someone you love, and realize you have absolutely no idea where they are coming from or what they are talking about? This was one of those times.

At that point, the conversation turned to the topic of how there’s basically nothing that I do that is “totally awesome” and that I have a general lack of appreciation for most things “totally awesome”. Filling a sink with party ice, jumping off rocks into bodies of water, tying a skateboard to the back of a moped and trying to ride it — these are things that are totally awesome (and Gabe has done all of them) that just…miss me.

But I am getting off topic. Because the real issue at hand here is not my lack of appreciation for the world of totally awesome things. It is about the question: how is a sink of party ice totally awesome?

We never circled back to exactly *why* this was a totally awesome thing, and that’s probably partially because Gabe felt it needed no explanation. It just was.

But if you have any insight into this issue, it would be greatly appreciated.

Although maybe this is one of those questions I’m just not supposed to know the answer to. Maybe I never will.

It could also be that I am blowing this issue slightly out of proportion, due to the fact that for the last few months, I have been spending a couple of hours a week re-watching the entirety of Lost and am now just two episodes away from the series finale, and am slowly losing my mind just a little bit.

There I said it; oh and by the way if anyone wants to trade extensive essays or theories about basically anything on the show feel free to contact me directly. My Google search history for the last 3 months may or may not include questions such as, “Is John Locke a metaphor for…” and “Why is Australia the key to the whole game?”.

(Also, hi, yes I am your grandma who thinks you have to type full questions into Google. Very totally awesome.)

So that’s a little bit embarrassing and 100% true. I’ll just get back to work now. Don’t mind me. (And by work, I do mean watching those final two episodes of Lost. Okay bye.)

7 comments

    • Kate Stull

      I realized after I hit “publish” that party ice is kind of a crazy term to use without explanation. 🙂 It’s just a bag of ice you’d buy at the store to fill a cooler for a party or, you know, to fill up your sink with just for fun.

      • draliman

        Cool (pun intended) – I think I have seen ready-made ice cubes in the UK but you’d have to go searching far and wide to find them.
        I guess I’ll just have to imagine how awesome it would be to fill my sink with it 😉

Leave a Reply

