Surf party.

oh me? no photos today thanks.   can't pose, won't pose, so there.

Today Gabe is wearing a white t-shirt, red shorts, and brown flip flops.

It’s no secret that I basically never sleep, but that I would really like to. I don’t tend to have problems falling asleep at night (except for when I do), but I do tend to have problems with waking up at 3am even if I’ve only gone to bed at midnight.

Days where this happens, I sometimes try to take a nap if I can around 7am (one of the perks of working at home), but morning naps are not really my thing. I wake up feeling weak and sick, and don’t usually bounce back until noon. So my naps are few and far between.

So most of the time, I just start working. I head to the living room, get comfortable on the couch, and just start typing in the dark.

And here’s the thing: even though waking up so early makes me feel upset and out of sorts for most of the rest of the day, in those hours between 3am and 10am, I am usually so insanely productive and the feeling of superiority that comes from completing a project and sending it in at 5am is so satisfying, it almost makes living life as a pale, sleepless zombie worth it.

Because really, who doesn’t like to send emails at 4:30am that are just like “Oh me? No, I just wake up this early because I am a really amazing person.”?

Wrapping up a day’s work at 10am feels like you are cheating the system somehow. Plus, the self-satisfaction of getting all your work done at an hour that’s embarrassingly early to eat lunch at is just great.

Of course, then I crash. Then I ask if 6:30pm is too early to go to bed.

But that’s later. For now, I am just amazing.

13 comments

  1. urbanpaleochef

    I’ve been doing some research lately on segmented sleep. Apparently, the 8-hour night is a purely modern invention. Before street lights, it was almost universally accepted that people would sleep in two 4-ish hour chunks, with a period of wakefulness in between. They were called “First Sleep” and “Second Sleep”. If you do a quick google-search on “Second Sleep” and you’ll find a bunch of really interesting articles on the subject.

    • Kate Stull

      When I was a teenager, I used to do that (sleep a little at night and a little after school) and it was some of the best sleep I ever got! This is probably something I should think about revisiting since I work from home… Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  2. Pingback: How nice. | kate stull

Leave a Reply

