Bucket man.

you gotta make friends with these neighbors, man.   um they have a hot tub, so...yeah.

Today Gabe is wearing a teal jacket, a blue sweatshirt, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Last week I was trying to figure out how to get health insurance in California (I had applied and gotten coverage in Washington, and then of course, like a genius, moved out of state shortly after) and on the very same day that I finally enrolled in a program that would start in California on January 1, 2014, I cut my finger nearly down to the bone with a bread knife.

Here’s a moving pro tip: there is no better way to learn about your new community’s medical facilities than to have a minor emergency during your first week!

Another fun part of this situation was that no one in rural Northern California has a web presence, so my attempts to Google my way to help were completely useless. So after wrapping my finger in a hand towel and taking several deep breaths, I did my best to make a very calm and business-like phone call to Gabe’s parents to ask for “just a quick recommendation on where I can get some urgent care.”

Since I don’t yet have insurance, I was hoping to avoid the emergency room (the one medical place that I actually knew of in the area) and was luckily referred to a local clinic, where a nurse took a look at my finger and told me I got “really lucky” because I wouldn’t need stitches. Instead, I would just need to wrap my finger in bandages 24 hours a day, even in the shower, and then live that way — I guess for the rest of my life?

That’s just the theory I’m working on now, since my finger is healing slowly but still oh-so painfully. Who knew cutting your finger in half would be such a big deal?

It makes typing a real pain. And since that is basically 100% of my job, it’s been a bit rough — but don’t worry I am being very brave as usual. Speaking of typing for my job, we just released a new thing I helped make!

https://popforms.com/new-manager-tips/

In other rural California news, I am being visited/stalked by a neighborhood cat who thinks I owe it something.

hello neighbor

Today it decided to simply take up residence in the sunny patch outside my door. I would feed it, but I don’t think that would be a good idea, and also I don’t have any cat food.

Otherwise, life in California is just great. I am learning all about the healing power of crystals, and what my chakras should and should not be doing. The sun is shining all the time, it’s so much warmer than in Seattle, and there are hiking trails all around my new home.

I just have to figure out how to get outside without letting my new best friend inside. Hmm.

15 comments

  1. Heartafire

    I would truly like to live in California…I know fashion is very important out there, Gabe is a fine example. thank you!

  2. AngieG9

    So sorry about your finger. Broke my shoulder in 3 places almost 2 weeks ago, so I know how hard it is to type with an injury and all that pain. About the cat — did you accidently leave food out at some point? Do you have another door you can escape through without letting your new BFF in? Try shooting it with a water pistol a few times and maybe it won’t feel so welcome there. Just be sure you DON’T FEED IT.

    • Kate Stull

      Ouch! Sorry to hear about your shoulder. 😦 As for the cat, I think it might live upstairs, so I think it may just associate the house with getting food. Luckily it doesn’t tend to linger for toooo long so I can usually escape without a break-in.

  3. trixpin

    Argh! Your finger story had me squirming through the whole post …ick! Poor you. I hope it reattaches itself even if the nurse won’t do it for you …
    That cat looks meeean. Does he always stare at you like that? Maybe he’s trying to get famous and has quickly clocked that you (being the only person on the internet in the region) are his quickest way to achieve that goal? I’d suggest not giving in to his fame-hungry efforts: no cameras and definitely no blogging about him (not whilst he’s looking at least)!

    • Kate Stull

      Oh man, I played right into its fame-grubbing hands – I mean, paws. He doesn’t always stare, but I think it’s his new tactic. He always looks like he is singing an angry song to me…

  4. draliman

    Sorry about your finger 😦 .That cat looks a bit feral in the picture. I hope it doesn’t smell the blood from your poor finger and think you’re lunch.
    Is there really a hot tub next door (I’m reading the picture titles again)?

    • Kate Stull

      I think it looks more feral than it really is, but it does howl very convincingly. And yep, today’s photo quotes were a direct quote from Gabe while looking over at my new neighbors’ deck… he has his priorities in order!

  5. Pingback: Duck pond. | kate stull
  6. Pingback: But still. | kate stull

Leave a Reply

