Out loud.

sheepish.   chic-ish.

Today Gabe is wearing a grey sweatshirt, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

Just when you thought you could pin us down, you couldn’t — Gabe and I are hitting the road today and heading to a not-to-surprising place: Seattle, WA.

The reason is that I am giving my first-ever talk at a real-live conference. And yes, I am a little bit terrified.

I wrote the talk a few weeks ago, but work has been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to get down to memorizing it until this week. (OOPS.) Luckily, the memorization is coming along pretty well and pretty quickly, but I was just thinking about the actual moment of delivering this talk in front of a room full of people and realized: “What if when I get up there I just completely forget every single word of this thing?”

I mean, that probably won’t happen. I don’t think. Right? Nah, it probably won’t. (But it might.)

I never used to have a problem speaking in front of crowds; in fact, I used to really like being on stage and giving presentations in school. But somewhere after college that skill…just sort of left. Now I get nervous just presenting in a small meeting with a bunch of people that I know, so — this talk will be an exciting moment where I either conquer my fears for good or have to quit my job and move to Mongolia in shame forever where no one will ever find me.

Hopefully, I just memorize it to a level where I can shut off my brain and the words will still come out.

I don’t know.

I went to a yoga class yesterday in an attempt to de-stress and unclench my shoulder muscles for once, and discovered this new teacher encourages LOTS of moaning in class. Apparently, the vibrations of moaning and sighing and groaning while you gently stretch your limbs shakes up your cells and makes them…happier? I’m not sure.

Anyways, obviously I couldn’t bring myself to even breathe deeply in this class, let alone groan, and so there I was surrounded by 6 people who were doing their best to out-moan each other for 75 minutes and needless to say I will NOT be attending that particular yoga class again. Uuuuunngggghhhhhh.

Time for me to get back to work memorizing. Wish me luck. And if I do end up having to move to Mongolia, it has been great blogging with you here and I am sorry that I will have had to disappear into shame witness protection. We had a good run.

(Just kidding. It will be great! Right? Right.)

8 comments

  1. trixpin

    Good LUCK!! I’m rooting for you and I’m sure you’ll be super! You def. won’t forget the words so don’t panic, just be happy and calm and all will be well 🙂

    • Kate Stull

      Thank you!! I feel more confident today and fingers crossed for tomorrow – I am sure I will update next week about how super famous I am now from giving such a great speech. 🙂

  2. Don Royster

    Gabe, as always, is looking the best in those duds. He could get a job modelling for Land’s End, you know. Congrats on the talk. Hope they are paying you big bucks for the talk. Several suggestions for your talk. Remember some nervousness keeps you on your toes. As soon as you start the talk and get going, that should fade away. A good set of notecards with the talk completely outlined. That way, if you forget some of the details, you will cover the important stuff. Finally there is a reason for everything. So the moaning? If you forget your lines, just start moaning. It will be quite entertaining and memorable. They’ll be saying a year from now when they are planning their next conference, “Remember that woman that moaned during her speech.” “Oh, yeah. She woke everybody up. She was great comic relief between all those other boring talks.” “Let’s invite her back.” So to summarize: nervousness will go away, notecards, moaning yoga. And, oh, one final thing. You will be a hit.

  3. Pingback: Cake boss. | kate stull
  4. Heartafire

    well, it’s hard for me to concentrate or focus on what is going on with your Kate as long as Gabe is stealing your thunder. Good luck though…I know you will do great.. Hi, Gabe.

Leave a Reply

