Fog bank.

hmm today feels like an important day but what day is it?   oh wait it's a very special birthday!

Today Gabe is wearing a tan fleece, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

These pictures are not *actually* of today, though. These pictures are from last Sunday, aka a very special day, aka my birthday. Yay!

I used to think of my birthday as a month-long celebration, where every dinner and party and event was linked somehow to taking note of the fact that I was born. But somewhere along the way – maybe at 23? 24? – I stopped liking my birthday so much.

Or at least, I stopped liking to have attention for my birthday.

I’m not really sure why; I don’t think I had a bad birthday experience or anything remarkable that turned me off of birthday attention. It just sort of went away.

So in recent years, I have been working to find a good birthday balance. After all, you don’t want to shut down people who are excited for you and want to throw you a party. But you also want to make it clear that you really don’t want every person you know invited to a dinner where the restaurant staff will bring you a cake and sing to you and make you do a shot in front of a crowd of smiling faces.

This year, I think I found that balance.

Unfortunately, if you are looking for tips on how you can do the same, the balance I found this year came from the fact that I moved to the middle of nowhere.

I spent my birthday this year hanging out with Gabe, eating breakfast at a new restaurant in my tiny town, watching movies on the couch, and taking a walk around a nearby nature preserve. Then we ate dinner at an oceanfront restaurant with Gabe’s parents, and ate a tiny chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, ordered in this genius fashion: “We’ll have the flourless chocolate cake, with a candle, without singing.”

It was pretty perfect.

My plan for this birthday (before I knew I’d be living in the middle of nowhere) was to take a vacation to the middle of nowhere for my birthday. I had been thinking of Mexico or somewhere remote in the US, where I could basically hang out with Gabe all day and do something nice outside — so I ended up with the birthday I was planning this year, without even having to travel.

Fun!

Now, though, I am back to work — but not for long! Next week I will be off in sunny southern California on a quick vacation, where I am sure we will see Gabe in some summery, gorgeous outfits. Oh boy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

