Dive in.

moves like jagger   just dance gonna be okay da doo da doo just dance

Today Gabe is wearing a brown sweatshirt, a teal jacket, khaki pants, and brown shoes.

This summer, I have a couple of goals. I am not really a goal-oriented person; I don’t set specifics like “I want to have this job title” or “I want to lose this many pounds”. But I do like resolutions, which for me are more about adopting a way of living. A general mindset to have for the coming year or season.

My new year’s resolution this year was a variation on last year’s theme, and my summer resolution is a variation on this year’s theme.

Last year, my new year’s resolution was: “GET IT.”

This means, my goal was to get after “it”, whatever “it” happened to be in any given context. It was about stepping out of your comfort zone as often as possible, doing hard work, doing boring work, doing the thing everybody knew needed to get done but no one wanted to do, and doing it to the absolute best level possible every time.

This year is different, because more than one year of GETTING IT is basically only good if your goal is to have a heart attack or a nervous breakdown.

This year is all about owning it. This year’s resolution is in lower case, because it’s about calmly appreciating the hard work you’ve done and feeling good about what lies ahead. Moving away from the nervous breakdown, and toward the light.

Of course, sometimes this fails (case in point, last week’s post about burnout and depressing work days) but in general, it’s about pursuing the positive and doing the things that really matter and feeling great about making the right choices.

And to that end, this summer’s resolution is “it’s good for you!” which is all about going on weekly short runs, doing yoga twice a week, and going (nearly) vegan.

(I don’t know what to do about yogurt, when it comes to being a vegan, because I just got into yogurt this year and…I just don’t want to give it up.)

The best part is, I’m already doing all of these things. This summer it’s just about remembering to continue to do these things that are good for me (enthusiastically!) and taking care of my body. Part of owning it in 2014 means not filling my free time with work, and instead spending times on things that make me feel just great.

Like short runs. And like yoga. And like not eating cheese.

And possibly even taking an art class!

If my old art professors knew how little art I did these days, they would probably be really disappointed.

It’s kind of funny, though, because the two art classes I have available to me are drawing and printmaking, both of which were the only two classes I did NOT receive A’s in when I was an art major in college. Which, if you think about it, is kind of funny. Like, you have to be pretty bad at drawing and printmaking not to get an A.

But that is the fun part about “it’s good for you!”. It’s not about being the best or even necessarily being good. It’s about fun! It’s about seeing a nude model and drawing some weird misshapen charcoal lines that cause the teacher to hover over your shoulder, hesitating just long enough before offering some question-mark-laden advice to let you know they were thinking, “Gosh…where do I even begin?”

And don’t even get me started about printmaking which, spoiler alert, is really just DRAWING plus another element of adding ink and using heavy machinery.

But who knows, maybe now without the pressure of being the only art major in classes usually full of science majors taking their one creative class credit, I will be able to thrive. There is a certain level of embarrassment that comes from a chemistry major who doesn’t even want to be there making some art that makes your art just look like crazy outsider art, aka the kind done by homeless, the insane, etc.

If you could make a print of any simple drawing — like, of a houseplant or a car or a bird, or like, something easily drawn with lines (ie. no shading, contouring, etc), what would you do? I could use some inspiration for my first few projects.

Now I have to get to yoga class. I had a huge breakthrough last week where I figured out what color my aura is, but I guess that will have to wait for a future post.

4 comments

  1. Don Royster

    You reminded me to get back to the things I really want to do. And do it for the sheer pleasure of it all. Things such as just living the life I have. Writing what I want to write. Enjoying it for what it is. Reading books for the sheer enjoyment not for what I will learn out of them. Thanks.

  2. taraisarockstar

    I just posted about “goals” myself. The art class does sound like fun. I grew up in a family of artists… I’m creative but the only one who doesn’t draw! Best of luck to you!

    • Kate Stull

      Thanks so much! I just checked out your goal post — good luck with all of them! 🙂 (I didn’t even know hair model was a job people could have!)

Leave a Reply

