Beet classic.

hey what's that?   oh gross it's nature

Today Gabe is wearing a tan fleece, a brown t-shirt, khaki pants, and black shoes.

This week, I did my running, I did my yoga, I did my printmaking, and then I added a new hobby in the mix because Summer 2014 is all about work life balance, hobbies, and embracing my lifestyle as a 60 year old 27 year old woman.

I was on my way over to Gabe’s parents house one afternoon this week, but before I got all the way there, Gabe called and asked if I could pick up some seeds.

“…What? What kind of seeds?”

“Beet seeds.”

“What kind of beet seeds?”

“Beet classic,” he said.

So I made a u-turn and went into my local plant store where I had just weeks before bought Nina, my palm plant who is flourishing by the way, and posted up in front of the giant wall of seeds.

In stores, I go back and forth about wanting to talk to the people that work there. Sometimes I like getting into it with a knowledgeable store employee. Most of the time, though, I don’t want to talk to them. I get tense and even kind of anxious that someone will approach me, even just to say hello or ask if I need help. All of a sudden, the possibility of having to speak to a store employee sounds like the worst thing in the world.

Oftentimes, I will put in my headphones or just dart around the store avoiding eye contact, which is a dumb solution to a non-problem, but despite my best attempts to the contrary, I am just not always a very socially competent person.

Since I was having a socially-anxious kind of day that day, I stared at the wall of seeds, hoping that there would be just one kind of beet seed (ideally labeled “beet classic”) so I could get out of the store without talking to someone, but as I knew there would be, there were about 6 different kinds of beets and they all looked exactly the same and all had descriptions that made them sound like, well, beets as I know them.

After too many minutes of staring at the wall and willing one of the packets of seeds to just jump out and say, “It’s me!”, I finally turned around and asked the guy behind the counter:

“Which one of these beet seeds is, like…a classic beet?”

Unsurprisingly, he was helpful, got me my seeds, and sent me on my way.

Once I had the beet seeds in hand, I drove out to Gabe’s parents house and we headed out to the garden to plant the beet seeds, along with some cilantro and thyme plants his mom needed planted too.

Gabe took the lead. Gabe is good at gardening.

working hard or hardly working? (working hard.)   this goes here and this goes there

beet it beet it no one wants to beet it beet it   romeo says, "i can't eat beets so why bother"

Much to my surprise, I actually kind of enjoyed digging the dirt and planting seeds, watering them and spending time in the sun thinking about how nice it will be when the plants grow.

I’ve never done it before, but all of a sudden, I wanted to do it again.

Recently, I have been enjoying the kinds of long-range hobbies that I didn’t ever used to enjoy until, like, 6 months ago. In printmaking, the things I make are just the early stages building up to cool things I’ll make in the future. The products of my work now are…interesting, but not “good” really. And for some reason, I don’t mind. It’s an investment; I know it won’t be really a final product for months probably, and yet going in every week and working on something that I know won’t be a “good” or “done” thing doesn’t feel that bad.

In yoga, every week I’m building up muscles so I can do it better in the future. In gardening, I plant seeds I won’t see growth from for weeks.

I wonder if this is a result of my increased focus on work-life balance — or if I was inspired to invest in work-life balance because my life interests are changing.

Anyways I was so inspired by my beet experience that I decided to plant a little bed of my own at my house. I have lots of deck space and my neighbors have plants all around — so what’s a couple extra green things?

I bought basil and cilantro to help spice up my cooking, and I think I might get some lavender or something else good-smelling to liven up the beauty side of the deck.

If you lived in northern California and had an outdoor space that could provide sun or shade, what would you plant in a small planter? Open to suggestions for making my new gardening hobby very interesting and fun.

9 comments

  1. elainecanham

    I think its a mediterranean climate, isn’t it? So I’d plant stuff like tomatoes or aubergines, or peppers, and maybe a lemon tree or an olive tree in a tub (don’t know what your winters are like). Looks lovely. Good luck with the beets.

    • Kate Stull

      If only I had the space! Maybe a small tree that can live in a planter — less shade to share, but will make us both feel better about not wanting to share as much either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

